Spending the afternoon alone or with friends……whip up some sweets

2782042_blog1There are days when you would like to be left alone! and 2357237_blog1since life is very stressful, it’s okay to take a break and relax. When I go home to New Jersey, I enjoy going to Jersey City, or little India in Edison. I find myself lost for a couple of hours, going to the markets and stopping at the sweet shop to have some snacks. In California, there is  a very large Indian community in Artesia, and I go there to get my eyebrows threaded. My daughter always wants to get a “Mango Lassi” drink and these little green pista roll sweets, but she would not enter any shops if they do not display the “A” sign on the door, meaning they had to pass inspection. Sometimes I don’t pay much attention to these little details, but she has her eyes on all of the doors to make sure we are safe to eat there. Her favorite drink is “Mango Lassi” and it is a very delicious refreshing drink, it is great especially with spicy foods since the drink has blended yogurt. I can’t always make it to little India, so I learned how to make it at home. This is great on the weekends or when you are having a few friends over and want to serve something different. You can even pick up some sweets, if you are close to Indian shops or just serve  the mango lassi with some light snacks. This recipe is good for a few of your friends. I hope you enjoy experimenting with different ideas, and learn to just enjoy living in the moment. We don’t need many things to be happy!! just surround yourself with happy people, be thankful for what you do have and stop worrying about the things that make you crazy. Life can be enjoyed if we just take the time to enjoy it……XoXo Sharon

3131694_blog1Mango Lassi Recipe

3 cups of plain yogurt

1 cup of milk or soymilk

1 cup of ice

1/2 cup water

1 cup of mango pulp or very ripe chopped mango

1/2 cup of sugar

Blend all together, and then whisk in 1 oz of ground pistachios……Fill in large pitcher and serve with snacks

Published by guyanagirl

I am a writer, creating the first "Guyana Girl" online magazine. We will blog about our culture, traditions, food, fashion, music, stories and shopping.

2 thoughts on “Spending the afternoon alone or with friends……whip up some sweets

  1. This is such a wonderful idea, a great way for me to keep in touch :o) which i am not too good at :o) Joshua loves Mango Lassi; we will definately try this recipe too. I will be sure to keep checking for more recipes that my family will enjoy..

Leave a comment